BEA Home Page
BEA Home Page
MTA Annual House of Delegates 2009

The 164th Massachusetts Teachers Association Annual Meeting of Delegates was held May 1st and 2nd at the Hynes Auditorium in Boston. 20 BEA members represented Brockton as part of more than 1,000 delegates in attendance during the 2-day meeting. The annual budget for the MTA was discussed, amended and approved. There will be a $17.00 increase in our MTA dues for 2009-2010.

The annual meeting was called to order by MTA President Anne Wass and opened with formal ceremonies; the Pledge of Allegiance was led by MTA Vice-President Paul Toner and the delegation was treated to an inspiring rendition of the Star-Spangled Banner sung by Anthony DiCicco, Leominster High student, accompanied by Robert Landry, Leominster Teachers Association. A moment of silence was acknowledged for all the MTA members who have passed away in the last year.

The delegation was warmly and humorously greeted by Tom Gosnold, President of the AFT, Massachusetts. Tom shared with us, again, his favorite Red Sox joke and it was suggested by MTA President Anne Wass that he get a new joke for next year!

The delegation acted on proposed By-Law, Resolution and New Business Items. A complete report on the meeting will be available in the next issue of MTA Today and can be found at

Keynote Speaker was Adam Urbanski, President of the Rochester, NY Teachers Union. Mr. Urbanski spoke on the Union's Role in Education Innovation and told the delegates that "if you refuse to be at the table, you're likely to be on the menu." He received a thunderous applause from the assembly body.

George Watson, Walpole Teachers Association was the recipient of the 2009 Massachusetts Teacher of the Year Award. And, the Friend of Education Award was presented to Norma Shapiro, Legislative Director, American Civil Liberties Union of Massachusetts. Accepting the award on her behalf was MTA Legal Counsel, Ann Clark.

Linda McGowan from the Hanover Insurance Company presented a check to support the MTA Red Sox Most Valuable Educator Program.

The meeting adjourned at 4 p.m.

Top of Page